The Awards
All India Poetry Competition

First National Poetry Competition:1988

First prize:

 Vijay Nambisan (New Delhi), for his poem





Three consolatation prizes:


1.  Vivek Khadpekar (Ahmedabad), for his poem




2.  Vinayan Bhaskaran (Trivandrum), for his poem




3. S. Ganapathi (New Delhi), for his poem




Second National Poetry Competition :1990

First prize:

  Rukmini Bhaya Nair (New Delhi) for her poem


Kali Mother and  Me


Special Prizes:

1. Lokesh Deep, (Village Rehnwa, Haryana) for his poem


My Sister, Mother, and Me


2.  Vivek Khadpekar (Ahmedabad) for his poem


All in a Summer's Madness


3.  C. Raju (Bombay) for his poem


My Life


4.  S. Shiva Kumar (New Delhi) for his poem




Third National Poetry Competition:1991

First prize:

 Rajlukshmee Debee Bhattacharya (Pune) for the poem




Special Prizes:

5. Hemalatha Shetty (Madras) for the poem


The Archaka


6. Krishna Tateneni (Ohio, USA) for the poem




7. Sudeep Sen (New Delhi) for the poem


New York Times


Special prize for a Young Poet:

 Shampa Sinha (Australia) for the poem


The Differences


Fourth National Poetry Competition: 1992

First prize

 Shampa Sinha (studying in Australia) for her poem




Second prize

 Tarun Cherian (Thiruvananthapuram) For his poem


A Writer's Prayer


Commendation prizes

1. K. Ramesh (Bangalore) for his poem


Guns and Walking-Sticks


2. Oby Nagar (Jaipur) for her poem




3. Ranjit Hoskote (Mumbai) for his poem




4. Anju Makhija (Mumbai) for her poem


Can You Answer, Professor?


Fifth National Poetry Competition: 1994

First prize

 Anju Makhija (Mumbai) for her poem


A Farmer's Ghost


Second prize

 Smita Agarwal (Allahabad) for her poem


Our Foster-Nurse of Nature is Repose


Commendation prizes

1. Rina Singh (Canada) for her poem


The Poetics of Desire


2. Usha Rajagopalan (Anand) for her poem


Voices in the Night


3. Neeti Singh (Baroda) for her poem


Come, Lift Me


4. Ranjit Hoskote (Mumbai) for his poem


Legend Recycled


5. Rufus Daniel (Bangalore) for his poem


The Time of Brahma.


Sixth National Poetry Competition: 1995

First Prize

Tabish Khair(Copenhagen, Denmark)  for his poem


Birds of North Europe


Commendation Prizes

1.Gopi Krishnan Kottoor (Chennai) for his poem


The Coffin Maker


2.Smita Agarwal(Allahabad) for her poem


A Grass Widow's Prayer


3.C.P. Surendran(Mumbai) for his poem




4.Lalitha Biswas(Mumbai)  for her poem


Anything But the Truth


5.Anthoney Nag(Sambalpur, Orissa)  for his poem




Seventh National Poetry Competition: 1996

First Prize

Ranjit Hoskote(Mumbai) for  his  poem


Portrait of a Lady


Second Prize

Gopi Krishnan  Kottoor (Thiruvananthapuram) for his poem




Commendation Prizes

1.Smita Agarwal (Allahabad)  for her poem


The Lama


2.Anish Vohra(Baroda) for his  poem


Write Your Name Only


3.Vivek Narayanan(Chennai)  for his poem




4.Vijay Nambisan(Patna)  for his poem


You, Wystan Auden


5.Sudeep Sen (New Delhi) for his poem


Woman with Amphora


Special Prizes on the Theme Related to the 50th Anniversary of 

India's Independence:

1.Tara Sahgal (Mumbai)  for her poem


Independence Day


2.Raghav G. Nair (Thiruvananthapuram)  for his poem


These Are the Things We Could Talk About


Eighth National Poetry Competition: 1998

First Prize

K. Sri Lata In Santa Cruz (Chennai) for her poem


Diagnosed Homesick


Second Prize

Revathy Gopal Lines on Meeting (Mumbai)  for her poem


A Cousin, Long-Lost


Commendation Prizes

1.Falguni Dutta (Bhubaneswar)  for her poem




2.Supantha Bhattacharyya (Nagpur) for her poem


The Vigilante


3.Acushla R. Narayanan (New Delhi)  for her poem


On Leaving College


4.Gopi Krishnan Kottoor (Thiruvananthapuram) for his poem


The Old Boy's Silver Jubilee Reunion



Ninth National Poetry Competition: 2000

First Prize

 Shahnaz Habib(Delhi) for her  poem


Of Hypocrisy and Cheekbones


Second Prize

 Revathy Gopal(Mumbai) for her poem


I Would Know You Anywhere


Commendation Prizes

1. Priyanka Sacheti(Mumbai),For the poem


A Tourist's Impression of New York:
Before and After


2. Moneesha Nayak(Mumbai),For the poem


The Witch's Cauldron



Tenth National Poetry Competition: 2005

First Prize 

            Tishani Doshi         for the poem     The Day We Went to the Sea

            Second Prize

           Sampurna Chattarji            for the poem     Salt

Commendation   Prizes 

 1.   Nelson Js. Santosh       for the poem     Midsummer Madness

 2.  Minal Sarosh               for the poem     A Lizardís Tail